Cheap Philadelphia Phillies Tickets

Buy Cheap Philadelphia Phillies Tickets here

View All Philadelphia Phillies Tickets here

The “Philadelphia Phillies” is a professional American baseball team situated in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The team is part of the Eastern Division, which plays in the National League (NL) of the Major League Baseball (MLB Tickets). Since 2004, the Phillies have been playing their home games at the Citizens Bank Park located in the South Philadelphia.

The Phillies have played in several stadiums in the Philadelphia, including the Recreation Park, the Baker Bowl, the Shibe Park (now the Connie Mack Stadium) and the Veterans Stadium. The team conducts their spring trainings in the facilities located in the Clearwater, Florida.

Established in the year 1883, the team was first named as the “Quakers”. The team was founded in purpose of replacing the team from Worchester, Massachusetts in the National League (NL). After some time, the Quakers later became the Philadelphias, which was soon shortened as the “Phillies”. However, the used of both names were interchanged during the years 1883 until 1890. When the team reached the year 1890, it was officially recognized as the “Phillies”.

The team is the oldest one-city franchise among all of the professional American sports. For the record, the Phillies won two Major League Baseball (MLB) World Series championships against the Kansas City Royals in 1980 and the Tampa Bay Rays in 2008. The Phillies were also able to keep 7 pennants during the National League (NL) Pennants, by which first of the seven pennants was attained in the year 1915.

Prior to the team’s World Series victory in the year 1980, the Phillies went through a long period of struggles during the early 1900s. The team played 174 seasons of which 97 out of 174 seasons were from the club’s establishment. At that time, the 77 consecutive seasons turned out to be the fourth longest World Series drought in the history of Major League Baseball (MLB).

By great misfortune, the Phillies earned several doubtful merits due to their massive losses in most of the games in the history of American professional sports. However, although the team showed a low-rated and poor performance for the past spanning years, the Phillies recovered from their losses and showed big progress in the early 2000s. In fact, the team won five consecutive division titles from 2007 until 2011.

In the Major League Baseball (MLB) history, the Phillies’ primary rivals were the New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies and the Pittsburgh Pirates. Among these rivalries, the competition between the New York Mets and the Philadelphia Phillies was believed to be the hottest rivalry in the National League (NL).

The rivalry between the Philadelphia Phillies and the Pitsbrugh Pirates was said to be the best in the National League (NL). The competition between teams took place when the Pirates joined the National League (NL) play during their fifth season in the year 1887, four years late compared to the Phillies.

According to the team’s documented history, the Philadelphia Phillies had four of their most notable team captains during the 1920s to 1970s. These captains were Jimmy Wilson (1927-1928), Fresco Thompson (1928-1930), Granny Hammer (1952-1959) and Mike Schmidt (1978-1979).

Buy Discounted Tickets here